About the SQUAWK Award

The SARRAH SQUAWK Award recognises an individual SARRAH member for making an outstanding contribution to Australia’s rural and remote professional allied health network through:

  • Exemplary professional standards of excellence to the community and public that goes above and beyond the regular standards of service
  • Leadership, guidance, mentoring and governance; in a team or for a group
  • Implementation of a process or system to achieve more efficacy, higher efficiency,  improved productivity or better service delivery
  • Innovation in research, a program, project or policy development

Process for a SQUAWK Award

  • All nominators have to complete and submit a nomination letter, attaching all relevant supporting documentation
  • Nominations are reviewed for fulfilling all required conditions of entry and then forwarded to the SARRAH CEO in the first instance
  • The SARRAH CEO will refer all accepted nominations to the SARRAH board for consideration
  • The SARRAH SQUAWK recipient is determined by a two-thirds majority vote of Board members involved in the award selection process
  • All nominations and matters related to nominees are confidential with only the final decision announced publically
  • SQUAWK awards are typically awarded to recipients at the SARRAH national conference or at the SARRAH summit

Conditions of entry

  • The SARRAH SQUAWK Award is open to any individual who operates in any allied health profession in rural and remote Australia.
  • Nominations can be made by anyone, but nominators and nominees should be  existing SARRAH members respectively, or become one prior to nomination
  • Self-nominations by members will not be accepted
  • Nominations must fulfil all the required information and documentation, including corroborated evidence of the contribution being nominated for and signed references from authoritative sources
  • Nominations must be accompanied by a recent, updated CV and a high resolution, electronic photograph of the nominee that can be used for publicity purposes
  • Nominations must be submitted before or by the stated closing date
  • Selection and entry decisions are final and remain at the discretion of SARRAH, the board and any judges or judging panel engaged
  • The board reserves the right to not award a SQUAWK Award in any given year

Previous Squawk Award Recipients

Catherine Maloney [Darwin, 2018]

Robyn Glynn [Darwin, 2018]

Rob Curry [Port Lincoln, 2016]

Elaine Ashworth [Lauceston, 2012]

Owen Allen [Yeppoon, 2008]

Shelagh Lowe [Yeppoon, 2008]

Jason Warnock [Albury, 2006]

Robyn Adams [Alice Springs, 2004]

Michael Bishop [Carins, 2001]